Flower to Teacher by William H. Johnson, 1944

Flower to Teacher by William H. Johnson, 1944

Did you like the play on words? Ardha (as in harder)…. Anyhoo…I just did the same Ripley set with the ardha chandrasana pose and little by little I’m gaining balance as I gain confidence. It’s still better on my left leg (that’s the one with the repaired ankle oddly enough), than on the right, but i’m working on it. I actually held it (wobbly-like) for the length of time instructed and was able to transition back into triangle, however ungracefully. Still, we’ll call it progress.

It would probably help if I had a mirror or someone to spot me or even if someone had some tips on how to get into the pose. I seem to lose my balance as I’m extending my top arm and turning my head so the ears are perpendicular to the ground. As I roll my head up to look out rather than down, my whole body starts to fall backwards.

Any suggestions?

