Just finished JJ “Ripley” Gorman’s 40 minute “Going with the Flow of Life” set, which involved a lot of down dog, standing and seated forward bends and several triangle variations. One particularly challenging balance pose that I could only sorta hold was called some mess in sanskrit I couldn’t quite decipher. It flowed from trikonasana (triangle). ****Breaking News Update**** I re-watched the DVD, searched the google and it turns out the pose is called ardha chandrasana and looks like this:

Ardha Chandrasana by Magdalena Koob-Emunds

Ardha Chandrasana by Magdalena Koob-Emunds

I probably could have used the aid of a block and a bit more balance to hold that puppy, but soon that will be easy mac cheesy for me, I’m sure.

One final thing about the effects of tonight’s practice, or perhaps this is something cumulative I just noticed tonight. After I went back to re-check the dvd for the proper name, I stood by my couch. I noticed that I felt nice, elongated and well-connected from head thru core to feet, but I also felt short. I don’t normally feel short. I normally feel, I dunno…5’5″ maybe, but standing there tonight I felt barely 5’1 3/4″, which is closer to my actual height.

