Cat Ba Fish Market, Vietnam.  Photo by: Margery H. Freeman

Cat Ba Fish Market, Vietnam. Photo by: Margery H. Freeman

Another great practice tonight. Lotsa ab focus. I actually have a sense of engaging my core abdominal muscles while doing most of the simpler poses like tree pose or cat/cow and the pilates roll ups.

It’s a new feeling for me to be centered from there and drawing strength from that part of my body, which in the past, was difficult for me to locate internally. I’m now actually manipulating my deep abdominals and pelvic floor to make adjustments in certain poses rather than trying to adjust my extremities for balance and stability.

Also, just because I noticed it while I was rolling up my mat at the end, I now have the Third World squat down pat. I could drop into any open air market or bazaar selling spices or vegetables or fish or whatever and be all kindsa comfortable.

