Children At Play, Baghdad, Iraq.  Photo by Hadi Mizban/AP

Children At Play, Baghdad, Iraq. Photo by Hadi Mizban/AP

I did my practice almost 6 hours ago. From what I remember it was good. Lots of sweaty variations of sun salutations and holding plank position. I read yesterday that plank, especially holding on the forearms is the most effective ab exercise.

So I held plank for 5-10 breaths during each sun sal, got nice and sweaty, then took a shower and put on lotsa sweet-smelling perfume and high heels to go watch The Hurt Locker at the Esplanade.

It’s excellent by the way. Hard to categorize, cinema verite style, packs a wallop viscerally and intellectually. I was nervous the whole time and it really made me shake my head and wonder what the hell we’re doing in the Middle East.

