Photo by: Pete Souza

Photo by: Pete Souza

It’s not just a suburb of Phoenix. It’s that feeling I get when I go into something thinking I know what I’m capable of and then realize I’ve misunderestimated myself once again. By the way, I vote to make that a real word, but instead of a little ‘R’ in a circle, the copyright symbol would have a little ‘W’ in a circle. Just sayin’.

I digress. Anyhoo, the upshot is, I went into my practice feeling like egg salad that had been left out too long. I was sure I wasn’t up for a vigorous practice. But (again!), once I got into it, I was more than up for the challenge. I was rock solid in tree pose and I swear to god I could feel the current of the ocean pulsing back and forth inside of me like a perfect wave during shavasana.

I even had this thought called “I wonder if this is how a relationship would be for me?…I think I’m not up for it, but then it turns out I’ve been plenty ready all along.” Then I almost fell asleep on my mat. So I got up.

