The Slayer

“In every generation there is a chosen one. She alone will stand against …. the forces of darkness. She is the slayer.”
— Joss Whedon

Color me sweaty from just finishing up set #2, The Upper Body, on Rodney & Mariel’s little DVD. I’m a sweaty little monkey right now, but my chest does feel nice and open, as promised. Rodney and his little California-cool self said that if I walked through life with my chest open and my lungs and heart free, I’d be happier, healthier and more peaceful. I don’t doubt him.

By the way, while I half-watched and listened to the set a couple times before actually getting on the mat to do it, I accomplished two things. One, I digested my delicious salmon salad dinner and two, I finally got past the last level in the BrickBreaker game on my BlackBerry. I beat my old high score by almost 9,000 pts. and I’ve moved up from being ranked 700,000 in the world, when I started, to 97,500 and change. Thank you unemployment for allowing me the time to get good at something so important! [ /sarcastic]

Layla and cupcake.  Photo by: cupcakequeen

Layla and cupcake. Photo by: cupcakequeen

By the way, operation sugar-free goes well. It was easy once I set a date, ate every frosted baked good that came within 5 feet of me prior to the deadline, gave away most of my verboten foods (bye-bye Cheerios) and then went grocery shopping only for the stuff I’m committed to eating.

Besides, when breakfast is a hamburger patty and a couple o’ eggs fried in coconut oil, lunch is cottage cheese (fresh this time) with fresh blueberries and raw almonds, and dinner is organic mixed greens with grilled salmon or chicken, avocado and hummus, I certainly don’t feel deprived. Add in a hunk of Dubliner cheese to snack and it actually isn’t a bad day’s eating.

