My Namesake

My Namesake


Just did a really great practice…kind of a riff off of guru Jeff’s first 18 mins with some yogalates variations thrown in. I’m really starting to feel different in my body. My sensory perception of my body is more as an integrated whole and I’m actually aware of parts that were not on my radar before. I’m also more aware of the interrelated balance, flexibility, etc. of the part of the whole.


I have a new little sub-project designed to strengthen my left ankle, which was injured in a DWI (dancing while intoxicated) incident back in 2001, and increase my overall balance. It’s a simple enough plan that I read in an article online. It’s just balancing for 1 minute on each ankle to restore the neural receptors and pathways that go dormant when the ankle is sprained and tend not to get addressed once the physical damage is repaired. It’s simple, but now that I’m paying attention to it, I can tell how much better my balance is on my right ankle vs. my left and I look forward to tracking my progress.

The article and the research study was primarily based on recent ankle injuries and showed a tremendous increase in strength and balance after 6 weeks of doing the balance exercise. We’ll see how well it works on an 8-yr old injury.

