breathe_out_by_Gwarf

I’ve been feeling a bit trapped, as if I’m in a cocoon, hanging upside down from some random tree in a forgotten urban landscape, gripped by fear, resignation and self-doubt. For four days, I’ve woken up with ambitious plans to finally just do the dishes in the sink and a few other simple things that really are past due. I don’t know when loading the dishwasher, scrubbing a few pots, vacuuming and returning a few phone calls became more than I could handle, but that’s how my life looks when I’m not doing the one thing that I refuse to not do – yoga, everyday for at least five minutes.

I hope I’m a butterfly in the making, because that would be really lovely. Still, it might be an iron lung instead of a cocoon, which is not nearly as sanguine a metaphor.

Of course, this could just be my period talking. God knows I’ve felt, done and said some crazy things behind my menses.

Can I say somethin’ about destiny? Screw destiny! If this evil thing comes, we’ll fight it and we’ll keep fightin’ it until we whup it. ‘Cause destiny is just another word for inevitable, and nothing’s inevitable as long as you stand up, look it in the eye, and say, “You’re evitable!”

Winifred ‘Fred’ Burkle, Angel: S3 Ep.17 “Offspring”

