Photo by Matthias Pabst

Photo by Matthias Pabst

A misguided decision to have a Filiberto’s carnitas burrito at 9:45p caused me to have a late start at yoga tonight. I hope it’s not too late for certain readers to get their evening fix.

Not much to report. More sun salutations. More perspiration. Definitely noticing that my core is getting stronger and I can do ten push ups in a row, whereas when I started, I don’t think I could do more than a couple.

Also, my shins don’t feel at all strained when I sit all Third World villager squat style. As Martha Stewart would say, that’s a good thing. One more thing…my bum almost sits on my heels when I’m in child’s pose now.

I seem to remember back in my younger days in SBS my beehind used to sit quite comfortably on my heels in child’s pose and I’m actually not really sure why it doesn’t anymore. I’m not sure if it’s a loss of flexibility in my spine or the size of my thighs or what. In any case the gap is closing. I felt a slight brush before I became fully prone.


Ahhh progress. If I could only have it extend to a cardio workout. I keep on thinking I’d like to add a 3-4 day a week 30 minute walk/run into my routine to increase my overall fitness, but I haven’t figured out how to do it without either a) cheating b) being outside in 100+ degree weather or c) spending the money to join a gym.

che colbertBTW, anyone who is thinking of suggesting I just get up early, say 5:00am, before it gets too hot to go run, can just take a deep breath and swallow that suggestion right back down. Happy Monday everyone.
d

