This resonates with me today, big time.  Photo by: sylvar

This resonates with me today big time. Photo by: sylvar


Tonight’s practice was much like last night’s except with much sorer (is that a word?) quads. I could hardly walk today. I took an epsom salt bath, which seemed to help, but my poses were somewhat limited to the ones that do not involve flexing the quads. Bridge pose, for instance, was completely out of the question.

Have I mentioned how much I don’t like pain, even though I’m inspired by those who find it tempering? Here are some of my favorite pain related quotes.

“Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.” – Lance Armstrong

“Cycling is so hard, the suffering is so intense, that it’s absolutely cleansing. The pain is so deep and strong that a curtain descends over your brain… Once, someone asked me what pleasure I took in riding for so long. ’Pleasure?’ I said. ’I don’t understand the question.’ I didn’t do it for pleasure, I did it for pain.” – Lance Armstrong

“Pain teaches us to take our hands out the fucking fire.” Mary McAnally, poet

I’m more inclined toward Ms. McAnanlly’s view of pain…must be the island-born wandering spirit in me.

