John Coltrane

John Coltrane

Tonight’s title is brought to us courtesy of Mr. John Coltrane. I’m Old Fashioned and Lazy Bird are the last two songs on the classic album, Blue Train. Each is about 7 min. long and I did my yoga practice to both of them followed by shavasana in silence.

I’d been meaning to start exercising and even writing a blog or doing something for so long, but I was afraid that I lacked the discipline for the exercise and anything meaningful to contribute to the blogosphere.

It may just be a coincidence, but as someone who is of the belief that a life lived passionately and as a self-expression offers rich rewards in joy and prosperity, I’m happy to report that since I started this blog, I’m no longer unemployed, I’ve been hit on more times than I have in the last six months, I’m eating more healthily and several opportunities are appearing on the horizon.

I say this, because even though I know I love and really appreciate how I feel both during and after yoga, I still have to argue with myself about which 5 minutes of my day I’m going to carve out to sit and dwell in stillness.  

That struggle isn’t necessarily a bad thing and maybe it will go away and maybe it won’t. I guess I’ll find out along the way.

By the way, if you haven’t listened to any Coltrane and have been meaning to, definitely click on these links before you leave this page. Having been to several services at the the Saint John Coltrane Church in San Francisco, it’s not out of hand to call listening to Coltrane akin to a religious experience.

