photo credit:  Karen Ussery, fotosdekarina.com

photo credit: Karen Ussery, fotosdekarina.com

The lithe, hairy-chested man who is the yoga instructor in my lone yoga dvd says that asana means to sit or dwell in stillness.   I hadn’t been watching the video with the sound on, because I sometimes get irritated by that smooth jazz tone of voice that is ubiquitous to all meditation and yoga videos.

Maybe there’s a school somewhere, next to news-caster school, where they learn to talk like that, but most of the time I can’t manage.   Tonight, though, I let go of the judgement and listened to what he had to say and heard that little gem.

My mind races most of the time.   I am always planning, analyzing or considering something (or yelling at other drivers on the road).  I am rarely present and seldom doing just one thing.  I am very female in that regard.

I notice while doing my poses/asanas I’m multi-tasking:  listening to him, trying to keep up, thinking about what I’m going to write, how many minutes I’ve done and during shavasana (corpse pose) tonight I was thinking about the messages I might have on my facebook page.

Also starting to get mixed in is the familiar concern about whether what I’m doing is enough.  Is five minutes really enough?  Is doing the same few poses over really enough?  Is just doing the beginning 10-15 minutes of a 75 minute video and stopping before he does enough?

I was liberated by his simple definition of what a yoga pose or asana is – to sit or dwell in stillness.  I got that, just sitting on my mat, legs bent as best they could, breathing and generating being present is yoga.

That’s what I said I’d do, for at least five minutes a day, every day for a year.   And so far, I have done more than enough.

